© 2023 Robert Julian Agnel, All Rights Reserved.
DJI Mavic 3 Classic
Built in 1855 designated a heritage building by the Town of Renfrew in 1976 the Museum opened in 1969. In 1963, M. J. Murray and the M. J. O’Brien Company Limited, owners of the mill and surrounding lands, sold them, for One Dollar, to the Town of Renfrew. The Town enacted By-Law No. 2202 on September 24, 1963, stating “That this land shall be used for, and in connection with a Museum or similar Community enterprise”.
Situated in picturesque O'Brien Park the 3 floors have more than 3,000 artifacts that celebrate the town's rich history from early lumber days to the burgeoning industries that used the power of the river.
Built on the second chute of the Bonnechere River the river first appeared on a map in 1688. The second chute falls 82 feet, or about 25 meters. You can see part of the original water works supplying power to the mill. Today, Renfrew Power Generation consists of two dams and can generate four megawatts (4MW) of power continuously at full capacity to the local grid.
Panning to the right, we see the swinging bridge originally built in 1885 featured in the WWP Best of 2005. The bridge is a 30-meter suspension bridge over the Bonnechere River and is one of only 3 swinging bridges in Canada. A littler further down river we can see part of the second dam and power house.
Ambrose O'Brien the father of MJ O'brien started the National Hockey Association of Canada which later became the National Hockey League.